新冠病毒: 为加拿大的消费者提供牛奶相关的信息

1. 消费者可以对加拿大供应的牛奶质量和安全性充满信心。

  • 在加拿大,奶农们每天都严格按照一套有据可循的制度和规章,以确保加拿大牛奶供应的安全性。当牛奶离开农场后,会按照特定的程序进行巴氏消毒,定期测试以及处理和运输。
  • 在加拿大,消费者可以信任牛奶的质量因为我们有严格的规章制度以及乳业必须遵守的proAction计划,其中规定了严格的要求,特别是在食品安全,牛奶质量,生物安全性和可追溯性方面。

2. 在加拿大,我们拥有完善的食品体系,消费者可以对加拿大牛奶和乳制品的持续供应充满信心。

  • 加拿大的奶农和加工商将继续工作,以确保消费者能够持续获得足够的营养乳制品。
  • 所有乳业同业都积极响应者联邦政府和省政府的呼吁,支持保持社交距离,以减缓新冠病毒的增长曲线,同时还确保食品供应链的运作不中断,或降低影响至最微。

3. 奶农们正主动和业内的主要领导者积极合作,以应对新冠病毒。以下是一些采取的措施:

  • 呼籲奶农遵守加拿大公共卫生局和其他当局的意见,来预防人与人之间的病毒传播,比如进行保持社交距离。我们要求奶农取消不必要的农场访问,并要求出现症状或被确诊的奶农按照公共卫生官员的指示进行自我隔离。
  • 与乳业的主要领导者合作,包括各省乳制品协会,加工商和Canadian Dairy Commission,以及其他相关的联邦政府机构和部门(Public Health Agency of Canada,Health Canada,Canadian Food Inspection Agency,Public Safety),以确保乳制品的持续供应。
  • 提醒奶农们制定业务连续计划的必要性,以便在奶农或者农场相关员工,呈现症状并需要自我隔离的时候,能有其他人照料动物。

4. 现在仍然處於一个不稳定的情形,但是可以预见新冠病毒全面爆发的影响,乳业会根据需要来调整应对措施或采取任何公共安全官员要求的预防措施。

我们意识到,由于新冠病毒的爆发,消费者对牛奶和乳制品存在各种疑问。以下是一些常见问题的相关信息和解答。

加拿大的牛奶可以放心地喝。

在加拿大,奶农们每天都严格按照一套有据可循的制度和规章,以确保加拿大牛奶供应的安全性。牛奶会按照特定的章程进行巴氏消毒,定期测试以及处理和运输。消费者可以信任牛奶的质量因为我们有严格的规章制度以及乳业必须遵守的proAction计划,其中规定了严格的要求,特别是在食品安全,牛奶质量,生物安全性和可追溯性方面。

这些并不是特别的措施:而是加拿大奶农们每天坚持的一套标准。

可以。根据 加拿大卫生部 的资料,未开封的牛奶可以冷冻长达六个星期。确保冰箱的温度设置为零下18摄氏度(0华氏度)或更低,并在保质期前放入冰箱。使用原有包装进行冷冻。当您把牛奶冷冻时,您可能会注意到牛奶分离。不要担心,这很正常。当您准备饮用牛奶时,将其放入冷藏层解冻。打开牛奶前可以先摇一摇。虽然冷冻可以减缓牛奶质变的时间,但我们建议尽快饮用解冻的牛奶。

加工过的硬芝士,酸奶以及黄油也可以冷冻。但是芝士的质地可能会发生变化,所以当您将芝士从冰箱中取出后,您可以用其进行烘焙或者烹饪。

请参考加拿大卫生部的以下准则:

乳类制品冷藏在4摄氏度(40华氏度)或更低温度冷冻在零下18摄氏度(0华氏度)或更低温度
未开封的牛奶保质期前6周
开封的牛奶保质期前不可冷冻
未开封的Cottage芝士保质期前冷冻效果不佳
开封的Cottage芝士3天不可冷冻
未开封的酸奶保质期前1-2个月
开封的酸奶3天不可冷冻
软芝士1周冷冻效果不佳
半软芝士2-3周8周
硬芝士5周3个月
硬质芝士10个月1年
加工芝士5个月3个月
未开封的咸牛油8周1年
未开封的无盐芝士8周3个月
开封的牛油3周不可冷冻

Please refer to the following guidelines from Health Canada:

随着新冠病毒影响的全面爆发,许多消费者对纷纷涌来超巿采购紧急用品作储备。但乳制品的任何短缺都只是暂时的,我们将继续照常生产牛奶和乳制品。

我们呼吁加拿大人避免不必要的囤货,并与更加不幸的人分享这些物品。鉴于此次疫情带来的未知经济影响,许多food banks都在请求援助,我们提倡加拿大人在力所能及的情况下帮助food banks以及其他社区组织。

在加拿大,我们拥有强大的食品运输系统,因此您近期可能遇到的任何短缺都能被处理完善。此外,随着需求量趋向正常,我们预计货架上的库存也会随之增加。尽管如此,所有的产品链都在采取措施,以确保消费者在这段充满未知的时期能够继续获取他们了解和喜爱的乳制品。牛奶和乳制品是成千上万加拿大家庭的主食,我们将竭尽所能,维持现状。

根据公共卫生局的建议,奶农们正在减少人与人的接触,以预防病毒的传播。措施包括取消或推迟不必要的农场访问,与卡车司机,兽医,饲料运输人员,技术人员及其他服务商保持两米的距离,以达到保持社交距离的目的。

提倡奶农们遵循公共卫生局对所有加拿大人提出的相同建议,如果他们出现症状,将会自我隔离。

即使在有奶农生病的情况下,乳业也致力于每天坚持我们的高标准去照料牛群。大多数奶农都制定了业务连续计划,确保农场的其他帮助来源-否则他们永远都不能休假了!

如果奶农无法进行农场日常劳作和牛群照顾,还有许多能够帮助他们的选项。从国家层面来讲,加拿大农业人力资源管理局会有一系列的措施来协助奶农。

根据世界卫生组织表明, 冠状病毒是由多种病毒组合而成。新冠病毒是冠状病毒在2019年被发现的一支全新病毒株。新冠病毒和牛冠状病毒不同。牛冠状病毒不会感染人类且牛可以注射可用的牛冠状病毒疫苗。在加拿大,没有任何证据表明新冠病毒在家畜或其他动物之前传播。

不会。根据 加拿大卫生部加拿大食品检验局称,没有任何证据表明食物是新冠病毒的来源或传播途径。该病毒通过人与人之间的接触及人与被感染的表面接触而传播,这也是我们要遵循公共卫生建议的原因。

食品业界已经采取了保持社交距离的措施,并将继续定期清洁和消毒所有设备-这与公共卫生建议相一致,以降低食品行业人员感染该病毒的风险。

全世界和加拿大的科学家和食品安全局都在密切监视新冠病毒的传播。如果我们意识到潜在食品安全风险,会采取适合的措施以确保加拿大食品供应的安全性。

不能。根据 加拿大营养师协会的说法: “您不能通过饮食来增强免疫系统,并且没有任何特定的食物、补品、或天然保健品能够预防新冠病毒。免疫系统的正常运作涉及许多营养元素,因此我们呼吁每天食用各种健康食品来支持免疫功能。

根据加拿大公共卫生局的说法,预防新冠病毒的最佳方法是遵循适当的卫生习惯和公共卫生官员的建议。查看更多相关信息,请访问加拿大公共卫生局的网页

迄今为止,加拿大政府尚未批准任何预防、治疗、或治愈新冠病毒的产品。在加拿大,销售未经授权的保健产品,以及作出关于治疗新冠病毒虚假或误导性的言论都是违法的。政府正在采取行动制止此类行为。 更多信息请访问这里

没有任何确凿的证据支持这个牛奶会导致粘液分泌增加的观点。研究表明,和喝牛奶不会造成或增加呼吸道的粘液分泌。喝牛奶有时候会引起“喉咙有异物”或者“唾液浓稠”的感觉,这是由于牛奶的粘性和柔软的质地,并不是因为粘液的分泌而导致的。

COVID-19: Information for Consumers About Milk in Canada

1. Consumers can be confident in the quality and safety of the Canadian milk supply.

  • In Canada, farmers follow a rigid, well-documented set of practices and procedures every single day to ensure the safety of the Canadian milk supply. After it leaves the farm, milk is pasteurized, tested regularly, and handled and transported according to very specific protocols.
  • In Canada, consumers can rely on the quality of our milk because we have strict regulations as well as the dairy industry’s mandatory proAction program, which prescribes robust requirements, particularly with regards to food safety, milk quality, biosecurity, and traceability.

2. We have a robust food system here in Canada and consumers can be confident in the continued availability of Canadian milk and dairy products.

  • Canada’s dairy farmers and processors continue to work to ensure that consumers have access to a continuous and ample supply of nutritious dairy products.
  • Everyone in the dairy industry has responded to federal and provincial calls to support social distancing to flatten the COVID-19 curve, while also ensuring that operations continue with limited or no disruption to the food supply chain.

3. Dairy farmers are working proactively with industry stakeholders on a coordinated response to the COVID-19 outbreak. Some of the measures being undertaken include:

  • Encouraging farmers to follow all advice from the Public Health Agency of Canada and other authorities to prevent human-to-human transmission of the virus, such as practising social distancing. We have also asked farmers to cancel non-urgent farm visits and asked producers who exhibit symptoms or test positively for COVID-19 to self-isolate in accordance with guidance from public health officials.
  • Working with dairy-industry stakeholders including provincial dairy associations, processors and the Canadian Dairy Commission as well as other relevant federal government agencies and ministries (Public Health Agency of Canada, Health Canada, Canadian Food Inspection Agency, Public Safety) to ensure ongoing supply of dairy products.
  • Reminding farmers of the need for business continuity plans, so that others can take care of their animals in the eventuality that a farmer or farm employee shows symptoms and needs to self-isolate.

4. This remains a fluid situation and the dairy industry will adapt its response or implement any additional preventative measures required by public health officials as necessary as the full impact of the outbreak becomes known.

We recognize that in light of the COVID-19 outbreak, consumers have a variety of questions about milk and dairy products. Please find information and answers to some of the most common questions below.

Canadian milk is safe to drink.

In Canada, dairy farmers already follow a rigid, well-documented set of practices and procedures every single day to ensure the safety of the Canadian milk supply. Milk is pasteurized, tested regularly, and handled and transported with very specific protocols. Consumers can rely on the quality of our milk because there are strict regulations in place and the dairy industry’s mandatory proAction program prescribes robust requirements, particularly with regards to food safety, milk quality, biosecurity, and traceability.

These aren’t extraordinary measures: it’s a set of standards Canadian farmers uphold every single day.

Yes. According to Health Canada, unopened milk can be frozen up to six weeks. Make sure your freezer is set at -18 °C (0 °F) or lower and freeze before the ‘best-before’ date. Freeze it in the original packaging. You may notice the milk separates when you freeze it; don’t worry that’s normal. Once you’re ready to use the milk, let it thaw completely in the refrigerator. Give it a quick shake before opening. While freezing suspends the spoilage process, it’s recommended that thawed milk be used as quickly as possible.

Firm, hard and processed cheeses, yogurt, as well as butter can be frozen too. The texture of cheese may change however, so you may prefer to use it in baking or cooking when you take it out of the freezer.

Please refer to the following guidelines from Health Canada:

Dairy productsRefrigerator at 4 °C (40 °F) or lowerFreezer at - 18 °C (0 °F) or lower
Un-opened milkBest before date6 weeks
Opened milk3 daysDon't freeze
Un-opened cottage cheeseBest before dateDoesn't freeze well
Opened cottage cheese3 daysDon't freeze
Un-opened yogurtBest before date1-2 months
Opened yogurt3 daysDon't freeze
Soft cheese1 weekDoesn't freeze well
Semi-soft cheese2-3 weeks8 weeks
Firm cheese5 weeks3 months
Hard cheese10 months1 year
Processed cheese5 months3 months
Un-opened salted butter8 weeks1 year
Un-opened unsalted butter8 weeks3 months
Opened butter3 weeksDon't freeze

Please refer to the following guidelines from Health Canada:

As the full impact of the outbreak became known, there was a rush on many common grocery products as consumers stocked up on emergency supplies. Any shortages on dairy products were isolated and temporary – we are continuing to produce milk and dairy as usual.

We encourage Canadians to not hoard groceries unnecessarily and to share with those less fortunate. Given the uncertain economic impact of the outbreak, many food banks have appealed for assistance and we encourage Canadians to support them and other community organizations if it is in their means to do so.

We have a strong food distribution system in Canada, so any shortage you may have experienced lately should be fixed now, and we expect that, as demand normalizes, so will the stocks on the shelves. Still, measures are being taken throughout the value chain to ensure consumers continue to have access to the dairy products they know and love in these uncertain times. Milk and milk products are staples in millions of Canadian homes, and we’re doing everything we can to make sure that remains the case.

In accordance with recommendations from public health authorities, farmers are limiting human-to-human contact to prevent transmission of the virus. Measures include implementing social distancing by cancelling or postponing non-urgent farm visits and staying two metres away from truck drivers, veterinarians, feed deliverers, technicians and other service providers.

Farmers have been advised to follow the same advice given by public health authorities to all Canadians by self-isolating if they are showing symptoms.

Even in the event a farmer falls ill, the dairy industry is committed to upholding the same high standards of animal care we uphold every day. Most farmers have business continuity plans that identify alternate sources of help on the farm – otherwise they would never be able to take a vacation!

There are various options available to help farmers in the event they are not in a position to do daily farm chores and take care of animals. At the national level, the Canadian Agricultural Human Resources Council also has a series of resources in place to assist farmers.

According to the World Health Organization, coronaviruses are a large family of viruses. COVID-19 is a new strain of coronavirus that was discovered in 2019. COVID-19 is different from the bovine coronavirus. Bovine coronavirus does not infect humans. A vaccine is available for cattle for bovine coronavirus. There is no evidence of COVID-19 circulating in livestock or other animals or other animals in Canada.

No. According to both Health Canada and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency, there is no evidence to suggest that food is a source or route of transmission of the COVID-19 virus. This virus spreads via human-to-human contact and via human contact with contaminated surfaces which is why it is very important to follow public health recommendations regarding proper hygiene.

The food industry has implemented social distancing practices and continues to have good practices in cleaning & disinfecting all equipment regularly – this is consistent with public health recommendations to limit risks to humans working in the food industry.

Scientists and food safety authorities across Canada and around the world are closely monitoring the spread of COVID-19. If we become aware of a potential food safety risk, appropriate actions will be taken to ensure the safety of Canada’s food supply.

No. According to Dietitians of Canada: “Simply put, you cannot “boost” your immune system through diet and no specific food, supplement or natural health product will prevent you from catching COVID-19. […] There are many nutrients that are involved with the normal functioning of the immune system and therefore we encourage eating a variety of healthy foods each day in order to support immune function.”

According to the Public Health Agency of Canada, the best way to protect against COVID-19 is by following proper hygiene and following the advice of public health officials. For more information, visit the Public Health Agency of Canada website.

To date, the Government of Canada has not approved any product to prevent, treat or cure COVID-19. Selling unauthorized health products or making false or misleading claims to prevent, treat or cure COVID-19 is illegal in Canada and the government is taking action to stop this kind of activity. More information can be found here.

There is no solid evidence to support the notion that milk consumption causes an increase in the production of mucus. Studies have shown that drinking cow’s milk does not cause or increase the production of mucus in the airways. Drinking milk sometimes leads to sensations of ‘‘coating of the throat’’ or ‘‘thicker saliva,’’ but these are sensations that are due to the viscosity and velvety texture of milk rather than increased production of mucus.